The New iPad? A Reason to Upgrade?

The following is merely a personal opinion and is not abundant in useful information or facts in order to make an informed decision. It is merely an personal view of mine and may not be useful or important for you to read. Thanks!

Alright, so to get started, I’ll say a bit about myself as an iPad user. I’m an iPad 1st Generation user and I have been using one since the iPad 2 was first released. My iPad is jailbroken, so I can install the things Apple didn’t think us users needed, like file uploading through Safari, bluetooth file sharing, ability to add songs to the iPod app without a computer, individual app locking, and various other useful things.

Oh, by the way, my cheapo Verizon phones from 5 years ago could send things through bluetooth…So iOS 5 is the most advanced mobile operating system according to Apple, right? Are they ignoring the basics??

So why haven’t I upgraded to another iPad ? The reason is not money, but instead the reason is the fact that I don’t see anything important in the newer versions of iPad that make me want to upgrade.

The only thing I would be getting is a faster device and a built-in camera. I thought about the camera bit on the newer iPads and whether that would be useful for me to spend the extra money.

So here are a few things to note:

With a jailbroken iPad 1, you can take pictures with any phone that has bluetooth and send them to the iPad through a jailbroken app. I can also send pictures from my iPad to other things. This program is called Celeste and is only available in the Cydia app store. This makes the camera in the iPad 2 and 3 unnecessary unless I wanted to use video calling on Skype or Facetime. I don’t exactly need to do such things. Another reason I don’t need to use a camera on the iPad is because, lets face it, serious picture taking on something as large as a tablet is somewhat laughable. Do they really expect me to hold my iPad up to take a picture of something? I mean, I suppose I could…but the iPad 2’s camera doesn’t even have auto-focus!

I’d like to apologize about the camera bit and be a bit more serious on that…Real estate agents might find the iPad and it’s cheap camera to be very useful for basic picture taking and might integrate well with their system. That’s pretty useful

But one thing I totally WON’T be doing is holding my tablet up to record a short movie. It would be both awkward and risky(in terms of dropping it)
Oh, by the way, why does iMovie only have the ability to edit videos shot on an iDevice? Talk about useless…

The iPad 2 is simply lighter, thinner, faster, and has a camera. I could personally care less about how thin the new iPads are. I also don’t need to worry about speed all that much because I don’t play games that require lot’s of 3D. So performance isn’t exactly an issue for my personal use.

The iPad 3 (or “the new iPad” as it’s called) is also a somewhat unnecessary upgrade for me from iPad 1. The reason? Simple, the only thing that has changed is it’s size, speed, and display. I don’t have a reason to upgrade to this because I don’t see this as being a “milestone” in the iPad series.

Now don’t get me wrong, the iPad 3 is an amazing accomplishment for Apple. The screen is amazingly crisp and clear. The resolution they achieved on such a small display is astounding.

So is the iPad 3 a huge improvement? No, but if you are new to iPads and have never owned one, grabbing the latest and greatest can’t really hurt! Also, I guess all you will be able to find in stores is the new stuff anyway…

I hope you were entertained. Thanks for reading!

About intriguingjoe

I'm IntriguingJoe, and I bring the world of small uninteresting things to the internet and try to make them interesting.
This entry was posted in Main and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment